Social Media Whirlwind through Nebraska

As a mom, I often feel like I am twirling around.  Keeping up with my responsibilities can be a bit overwhelming, and I can be a bit too good at ignoring the things that are not my favorite.  (Like balancing the checkbook or mopping the floor!)  This new world of social media options causes me to feel even more twisted.  And having been a bit too close to the 2004 tornado that passed near our Hickman home has left me rather leery of whirlwinds!

1913_Omaha_Tornado

Picture of the Omaha tornado from 100 years ago that I am perfectly fine with having missed!

I am caught right in between the informational age.  After all, I can still remember our Apple Computer green screen and playing “Little Brick Out” as a child. And I didn’t really begin sending e-mails until I was a senior in college.  Back then, even being on the internet was a big deal.  Cell phones were often in a bag in your car for emergencies – not for connecting you to the world 24/7.

Because I enjoy writing and like staying connected, I can struggle with social media.  I will admit I have checked my Facebook page during my kids’ baseball games.  Not very often, but more than I should have.  Although I like watching, sitting there for 2 hours does seem a bit long at times.  Or I will quickly look up things on the internet on family outings that could have waited until later.  I know that is something that I need to work on because I do want to be fully there for them – not distracted all of the time.

But despite the pull of my smart phone, I know that I am definitely not technologically savvy.  I really do not fully understand all of the options that blogging presents to me.  I thought tumbler described my daughter who does gymnastics.  And “digg it” sounds like a 70’s phrase – not one from today.  And for a long time, I thought “Linked in” was only for people who lived in Lincoln who were a part of some secret club. I still think tweeting is for the birds. Although I have to appreciate one’s ability to abbreviate thoughts, rather than going on and on (like writers can tend to do …)  But, while I love my life, I am really not sure that anyone beyond my family would enjoy subscribing to it.

Took kids swimming Wednesday.  Sunburns abound despite sunscreen.  Too little or too late?

Really?  Not even sure that is worth writing home about, much less having it land in a bunch of people’s accounts.  Now I have to admit that I might like being a Twitter follower during Husker football season.  I would enjoy knowing the inside scoop of what is happening on the field during 1st quarter.  But I think for now, I will just stick with watching television sports coverage after the game.

Herbie_Husker_1

One of my goals in writing on this site is to talk about what my family has experienced through Nebraska.  Sorry – I already broke that rule this week by writing about Burwell, despite the fact that I have not set foot in that town.  Yet.   I really do not want to be just a tourism site – you can go to Visit Nebraska for that.  But I know that events will be coming up that will be perfect for families.  Events that if I would simply blog about them later would already be missed.  That is like looking through a stack of vacation pictures taken by someone else – definitely not the same thing as being there.

So, while so far I have not joined the world of tumbling or digging or tweeting, I do know Facebook.  So, I have started an Odyssey Through Nebraska Facebook page.  All of my posts go directly there, so if you really do not like getting e-mail updates, you can know about what I am writing by checking that page sometimes.  I also am hoping to post information about upcoming family friendly activities in Nebraska.  Like today, the Durham Museum is having a “Wild West” day, and that fits in perfectly with what I have been posting lately even!  (Visit my Facebook page to learn more!)  (In the future, I will try to give you more notice than just a few hours)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now this does not mean that I am personally endorsing every publicized event or even attending them all.  In fact, I would love to head up to the Durham today, but for my daughter, attending her friends’ birthday party is a much more significant event.  But maybe some of you have the time today and want to get away on this beautiful almost spring-like July day.

I also did finally join the world of Pinterest too.  So, I hope to gradually begin posting some of my Nebraska pictures on my site.  I want more people to know about our great state!

At some point, I will hopefully have links on my blog where you can connect to either my Facebook or Pinterest pages.  (I will be calling one of my tech savvy friends to help me with that).  While there will be some overlap between those pages, I am hoping to include unique aspects to each site.  Nothing was more annoying in college than to go to class and listen to the professor basically read the assigned textbook pages back to me.  Just as there was no reason to go to class to learn what I had already read, there is no point in having three “Odyssey through Nebraska” sites that are all almost identical.  I am hopeful that the Facebook page especially will be a community site where many of you will also post.  Many of you will know about events that have not crossed my radar, and I want you to share them.

I hope you know that I do appreciate you joining me on this blog adventure.  (And if you decide to join me in the other lands of social media, that is great too.)  I also desire to keep my online world in check.  Since one of my main goals of this blog is to explore Nebraska with my kids, I do not want to be so busy connecting with everyone else that I forget to be a part of my own family and do not manage to engage in the experiences with them.  So, while future social media connections may be eventual possibilities, for now the ones that I have entered are enough of a whirlwind to me.  And don’t worry – if I begin tweeting, you’ll be the first to know.  Apart from those waiting with bated breath on Twitter for me to join of course!

twitter

P.S. If you are one who can keep up with all of the social media, this entry was not intended to bash you in any way.  I am guessing that for you “technology” is a ten letter word the way that it was intended, rather than the four letter word that it often is for me!

Categories: Metro, Where to Begin | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Social Media Whirlwind through Nebraska

  1. Pingback: Tuesday: Traveling On Across Nebraska | Odyssey Through Nebraska

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

